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Required filings in the State of Illinois for filings made during the year 2021.   
Covid 19 Pandemic Special Instructions: 

Due to the Covid 19 Pandemic much of the Illinois Department of Insurance is working 

remotely and visits to the facilities are restricted to essential personnel only. Until further 

notice, fillings that are required to be mailed to the Department should also be submitted 

electronically to the company’s state assigned financial analyst. If the company is not 

sure who their assigned analyst is, please contact Paul Ebelherr @ 

Paul.Ebelherr@Illinois.gov.  

Please refer to Company Bulletin CB 2020-06 found on the Illinois Department of 

Insurance website for further information. 

Note A - Required Filings Contact Persons 

Actuarial Opinions Eric Anderson Eric.Anderson@Illinois.gov 

Amended Filings Paul Ebelherr Paul.Ebelherr@Illinois.gov 

Audited Financial Statements Paul Ebelherr Paul.Ebelherr@Illinois.gov 

Financial Regulation Fee Tax Unit Doug.Hollis@illinois.gov 

Financial Statements Paul Ebelherr Paul.Ebelherr@Illinois.gov 

Holding Company Filings Patty McClain Patty.J.McClain@illinois.gov 

Privilege & Retaliatory Tax Tax Unit Doug.Hollis@illinois.gov 

Risk-Based Capital Paul Ebelherr Paul.Ebelherr@Illinois.gov 

Corporate Governance & ORSA  Susan Berry  Susan.Berry@Illinois.gov 

       

Note B - Mailing Address   

   Illinois Department of Insurance   

L/A&H Financial Analysis Unit   

320 West Washington Street, Fourth Floor   

Springfield, IL 62767-0001   

   

Note C - Mailing Address for Filing Fees   

Annual Statement Filing Fee (domestic only) $200 

Certificate of Authority Renewal Fee (foreign) 

Mail To:  

Illinois Department of Insurance 

Tax Unit 

P.O. Box 7087 

Springfield, IL 62791 

$400 

Form B Filing Fee (Send to mailing address in Note B above.) $200 

     

Note D - Mailing Address for Privilege & Retaliatory Tax Payments   

   Illinois Department of Insurance   

Tax Unit   

P.O. Box 7087   
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Springfield, IL 62791   

   

Note E - Delivery Instructions     

All filings must be postmarked no later than the indicated due date.  The official filing 

date is the U.S. Postal date stamp.  If the due date falls on a weekend or holiday, then the 

deadline is extended to the next business day.   

   

Note F - Late Filings   

Companies will be fined a penalty of up to $1,000 per day for a late or incomplete filing. 

Annual Statement filings will be considered incomplete if only one statement is received 

or if Risk-Based Capital information is not included on page 29, lines 14 and 15.    

Companies are subject to Privilege and Retaliatory Tax penalties per 215 ILCS 5/412.   

   

Note G - Original Signatures   

   

Original signatures are required on all filings from domestic companies.    

   

Note H - Signature/Notarization/Certification   

   

The Annual Statement shall be verified by oaths of the President and Secretary of the 

company or, in their absence, by two other principal officers.   

   

Note I - Amended Filings   

   

SSAP 3, paragraph 10 of the NAIC Accounting Practices and Procedures Manual states 

that corrections of errors in previously issued financial statements shall be reported as 

adjustments to unassigned funds in the period an error is detected.  In addition, this 

paragraph directs the company to obtain approval of the domiciliary regulator 

before filing an amendment to the financial statements.   

   

For domestic companies, if approval is given by the Illinois Department of Insurance to 

make an amendment, the amendment must be submitted simultaneously to the Illinois 

Department of Insurance, the NAIC, and all other states in which the company is 

licensed.  The submission of an amendment must include an appropriately signed jurat 

page.  Please note for domestic companies, a fine may result if there is an amendment 

submitted without prior approval.   

   

Note J - Exceptions from Normal Filings    

   

The request for an exemption or extension must be submitted in writing not less than ten 

days prior to the due date in sufficient detail to permit the Director to make an informed 

decision with respect to the request.     
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Note K - Bar Codes (State or NAIC)   

   

Not applicable   

   

Note L – Signed Jurat    

   

See NAIC Annual Statement Instructions.   

   

Note M - NONE Filings    

   

See NAIC Annual Statement Instructions. Exceptions to these instructions are noted on 

the form.   

   

Note N – Filing new, discontinued, or modified materially since last year   

   None 

   

Note O - Form Source NAIC     

   

The company must obtain the forms from the appropriate vendor. 

   

Note P - Form Source STATE   

   

The state will provide the forms with the filing instructions. 

   

Note Q - Form Source COMPANY   

   

The company, or its representative (e.g., its CPA firm), is expected to provide the form      

based upon the appropriate state instructions or the NAIC Annual Statement Instructions.   

   

Note R - Required Filings of the Department   

   

Quarterly financial statements and Risk-Based Capital Reports are required filings for all 

domestic companies.     

   

Supplemental Compensation Exhibit – Complete Part 1-3. In Part 3, make sure to include 

State of residency. If no compensation is paid, zeros should be used not blank spaces.   

   

Note S - Annual Form C Filing   

   

The Form C must contain text that describes each transaction that took place since the 

prior year Form B was filed. It is not sufficient to reference amendments that were 

previously filed with the Department.   
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The Form F Filing is only required from those companies for which Illinois is the lead 

state.  Please refer to 215 ILCS 5/131.14b and Company Bulletin 2015-04 for further 

information.   

   

Note T - Risk-Based Capital   

   

If the amounts reported in the Annual statement have been calculated using modifications 

to the NAIC instructions, the annual statement must be accompanied by a cover letter 

stating what the Total Adjusted Capital and Authorized Control Level would be without 

those modifications. All Risk-Based Capital Reports must be bound or stapled 

(binder clips are unacceptable).   

   

Note U - Management’s Discussion and Analysis   

   

If the Management’s Discussion and Analysis is consolidated, a separate copy must be 

provided for each company along with a cover letter, which details any specific 

individual company information.   

   

Note V - Annual Statement Filings   

   

All Annual Statements must be BOUND on the side and DUPLEXED with appropriate 

covers or the filing will be deemed incomplete and the company will be fined 

accordingly for filing an incomplete and late annual statement.   

   

Note W - CPA Audit Filings   

   

All CPA audits are due on June 1.  Any company whose domestic state due date is after 

June 1 must file an extension request no later than ten days prior to the June 1 due date.  

If the extension request is not received ten days prior to June 1st, the audit will be 

considered due on June 1st and, if late, the company will be fined accordingly.     

   

Note X - Illinois Business Page   

   

An Illinois Business Page (page 29 within the annual statement) must be filed with both 

the Department of Insurance and with the NAIC.   

   

For companies filing on the Health Blank that are licensed as Life, Accident and Health 

entities, the Illinois Direct Business page in Life, Accident and Health Blank (Blue) 

format must be completed for all indemnity business (see Supp31).  Please refer to page 

43 of the Health Blank, Question 12; this page must also be filed with the NAIC.     

   

For Life, Accident and Health entities with HMO and/or LHSO authority, a separate page   
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30, Exhibit of Premiums, Enrollment and Utilization must be completed, reporting 

Illinois only numbers for each line of HMO and/or LHSO business written and submitted 

with the annual statement.    

   

Note Y - Point of Service    

             

POS form only required to be completed by HMO and LHSO companies. All domestic 

and foreign HMO and LHSO companies, please complete if there is Point of Service 

business in Illinois. Please submit The POS form on an Annual and Quarterly basis (due 

March 1, May 15, August 15, and November 15 each year, respectively) directly to Amy 

Stuart at the mailing address listed in Note B.   

   

Note Z - LAH & P&C Companies   

   

LAH and P&C companies that file on the Health Blank should use the Health blank 

annual statement instructions for completing the RBC and Actuarial Opinion.   

   

   

Note AA - All Companies   

   

   Provider Agreements are to be filed in hard copy form with DOI, LAH Financial Unit 

Supervisor, Paul Ebelherr.     


