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Procedure to Obtain Viatical Settlement 
Provider/Broker License 
Qualifications for Residents Brokers 

• Must hold a valid Life Insurance Producer License for at least one year.  
• Must complete a onetime four hour training course titled “Viatical/Life Settlement” course number 

28000.  
• Must be at least 18 years of age.  
• Completed application and check payable to the Director of Insurance in the amount of $500.  

Qualifications for Non-Residents Brokers 
• Must apply for an Illinois non-resident Life Producer License and have been licensed as a Life Producer 

in your home state for at least one year.  
• Certification that they have met the training requirement in their home state (minimum of four (4) 

hours). If no certification must complete Illinois approved course.  
• Completed application and check payable to the Director of Insurance in the amount of $500.  

Qualifications for Providers 
• A detail plan of operation.  
• Evidence of financial responsibility through either a surety bond executed and issued by an insurer 

authorized to issue surety bonds in this state or a deposit of cash, certificates of deposit or securities or 
any combination thereof, or irrevocable letter of credit in the amount of $125,000.  

• An anti-fraud plan that meets the requirement of Section 65 of the new Act.  
• The method used to determine and receive life expectancies; the applicant’s intended use of life 

expectancies and a written plan containing policies and procedures to use when determining life 
expectancies.  

• Any and all viatical settlement contracts, forms and disclosure statements not previously approved by 
the Director.  
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